Reduced Hours and Activities During Late July/August

We love to welcome campus visitors, but before you make your plans, please note that amazing changes are underway at the CIA campuses during the summer and our visiting hours and restaurant hours may be affected.

Please note that classes for degree and certificate program students at all of our U.S. campuses will not be in session from July 27–August 20, 2018. Classes will resume on August 21.


  • The Admissions Office at all three campuses will be open to welcome prospective students and their families.


  • Since many of our restaurants rely on our students for the full CIA dining experience, please refer to for the most up-to-the-minute information.
  • At the New York campus, all restaurants will be closed during this period.
  • At the CIA at Greystone in St. Helena, California, The Bakery Café by illy will be open, but Gatehouse Restaurant will be closed.
  • At the CIA at Copia in Napa, California, The Restaurant at CIA Copia and Contimo Provisions will be open.
  • At the Texas campus, the CIA Live Fire Kitchen will be open Thursday–Sunday, and Nao will be closed.

Shopping, Classes, and More for Enthusiasts

  • Read the history of CIA's college cross country team - The CIA Steels
  • History of the CIA Cross Country Program

    2007: Runner Mike Murphy leads the team in three meets during the inaugural season.

    2008: Lowell Fisher joins as head coach while the CIA Steels double their total races, competing six times against regional foes. The women’s team places second in the Hudson Valley Women’s Athletic Conference (HVWAC) Championship and the team’s top runner, Caroline Dacko, captures first place out of the 45 runners.

    2009: The women’s team finishes third in the HVWAC while the men’s team places fourth.

    2010: The CIA women's cross country team wins the HVWAC Cross Country Championship, defeating six other colleges in the five-kilometer race to win the conference title.

    2011: The women’s team wins the HVWAC Cross Country Championship again with three of the top four runners (Jackie DeGrandpre, Brittany Ronan, and Samantha Carlucci). Five of the 10 CIA runners finish in the top 15. The men’s team capture third place, with two runners finishing in the top 10 (John Masching and Dylan Rutherford) and four CIA runners in the top 20.

    2012: The women’s team continues its dominance with another HVWAC Cross Country Championship, beating second-place Pratt Institute by 25 points. Three CIA female runners place in the top five (Jackie DeGrandpre, Brittany Ronan, and Shannon Haggerty). The CIA men finish in second place—its best-ever finish—with four runners in the top 20. In addition, Head Coach Lowell Fisher is named Coach of the Year.

    2013: After five seasons, Head Coach Lowell Fisher ends his very successful cross country coaching tenure with the CIA athletics program. Longtime CIA staff member Mike Murphy takes over coaching duties.

    2014: Two women’s runners—Olivia Jose and Cheyene Boinais—finish in the top 10 at the Hudson Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (HVIAC) Championship. Men’s runner Grant Rico places 11th.

    2015: The men’s team places third in the HVIAC conference. Men’s runner Hon Allmond lands 13th place in the conference championships. The women’s team ties for third place, led by Ellie Crampton coming in 16th place overall along with five female runners in the top 50.

    2016: Frank Risole joins the CIA Steels as head coach of the cross country team. In his first year, the men’s team finishes in seventh place while the women places fourth. Women’s runner Fiona Nicholson captures 8th place in the conference championships.