• Learn the history of the basketball team of CIA NY
  • Basketball Team History

    Originally coached by Mike Murphy, the basketball team was one of the CIA’s flagship intercollegiate sports programs when the college joined the Hudson Valley Athletic Conference in 2004. Serge Nalywayko then guided the team in 2006 and 2007 (with help from assistant coach and CIA student Jeff Wilk). Sean Furey took the reins in 2008 and coached through the 2012 season.

    Coach Furey’s first year turned out to be the most successful season to date for the basketball team. In that 2008–09 season, the CIA Steels finished the regular season with a 6-7 record, 3-3 in the conference, and for the first time ever qualified for the conference postseason tournament, as the #4 seed. Steels captain Dan Jackson was named to the HVMAC All-Conference team.

    The 2009–10 team followed up their first postseason birth with a second, again claiming the #4 seed for the conference tournament with a 6-7 record. The season highlight was a December victory over Berkeley College, the previous year’s regular season champion! BPS student Victor Lane and AOS student Corey Johnson were named to the All-Conference team.

    The 2010–11 and 2011–12 seasons were solid, as the team finished 5-10 and 4-10 respectively, good for fifth place in the conference both years.

    The Steels began the 2012–13 season with a new coach, Tim McEnroe. Blending a number of new players with a few veterans, the team played competitively, but fell short of the conference playoffs for the third straight year.

    The 2013–14 season saw the team finish with a 6-10 overall mark, but that included a team-record five straight wins for the Steels during the season. Veterans Max Goldberg, Wayne McFarlane, and Ian Whalley led the way with newcomers Ricardo Washington and Avery Britton becoming key players by the end of the season. Britton was honored by the conference’s coaches as an all-conference team selection.

    The 2014–15 basketball season was highlighted by the achievement of two milestones for the program: most wins in a season (9) and first regular-season record above the .500 mark (9-7). “We had some of the most talented players in program history, led by our all-conference player Avery Britton,” said Coach McEnroe. “With some injuries along the way and players who graduated mid-season, it slowed us down towards the end of the season. Overall, I was again proud to see the competitive fire and drive to compete in a tough HVIAC league.”

    The 2015–16 season brought a 7-8 record as well as national attention with media features in The New York Times in November and an ESPN SportsCenter segment in February.